WCM Network: 
 


Go Back   mmorpgforum.net > Machinima > WarcraftMovies.com > Movie Making
Register Projects FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-08-2007, 03:57 AM   #11
ry
Initiate
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 4
ry is unknown at this point
could anyone post any trial links like where you could get this stuff? i tried everything i could. Sony Vegas Trial version,Adobe Premiere 1.5 and 2.0. Then i tried adobe after effects. there was always an error. lol
ry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2007, 12:20 PM   #12
godliest
Senior Member
 
godliest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Sweden
Posts: 396
godliest is notable
I use both Vegas and Adobe, depending on what I need. Altho I'm pretty unskilled at both, hopefully I will get better.
__________________
Give me + to my posts
or be destroyed

Albert Einstein Quotes
"Gravitation is not responsible for people falling in love."
"Any intelligent fool can make things bigger, more complex, and more violent. It takes a touch of genius - and a lot of courage - to move in the opposite direction."
"Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the the universe."
godliest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2007, 08:29 PM   #13
Blackfire
Initiate
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 21
Blackfire is unknown at this point
Quote:
Originally Posted by Uzbeki View Post
Editing Programs

Sony Vegas 6 ($449*; Free 30 Day Trial)
Sony Vegas is really starting to shine as an all-in-one editing solution. It has some of the best built-in sound controls I've ever seen and it's definately no slacker when it comes to the visual aspect. All effects are high-quality and easy to manipulate. Color correction and transitions are top notch. The interface is intuitive and quick to learn. If Adobe isn't careful, Sony will take the spotlight.
Vegas 6 Home
Trial

Originally posted by Thoradrim on the old forum
oh dear god... $449? i cant afford that. i didn't think it was THAT expensive.. crap..

i want to make good visual quality videos.. but i cant afford this stuff. only choice i have is to keep using windows movie maker... /sigh
Blackfire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2007, 09:03 PM   #14
kiahann
Senior Member
 
kiahann's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 900
kiahann is notable
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blackfire View Post
oh dear god... $449? i cant afford that. i didn't think it was THAT expensive.. crap..

i want to make good visual quality videos.. but i cant afford this stuff. only choice i have is to keep using windows movie maker... /sigh
I COULD be wrong but it's really expensive probaly the fact that I think directors use sony vegas for real movies.
__________________
ModSquad Warcraftmovies.com
kiahann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2007, 08:38 PM   #15
godliest
Senior Member
 
godliest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Sweden
Posts: 396
godliest is notable
Quote:
I COULD be wrong but it's really expensive probaly the fact that I think directors use sony vegas for real movies.
I do believe they use the most expensive program here, aVid, but that's only my guess. Some of the effects I've seen in movies simply can't be added with Sony Vegas.
__________________
Give me + to my posts
or be destroyed

Albert Einstein Quotes
"Gravitation is not responsible for people falling in love."
"Any intelligent fool can make things bigger, more complex, and more violent. It takes a touch of genius - and a lot of courage - to move in the opposite direction."
"Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the the universe."
godliest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2007, 09:56 AM   #16
Thiras
Senior Member
 
Thiras's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 528
Thiras is unknown at this point
Quote:
Originally Posted by godliest View Post
I do believe they use the most expensive program here, aVid, but that's only my guess. Some of the effects I've seen in movies simply can't be added with Sony Vegas.
To quote IMDB about 300:

Quote:
Post production took almost a year. The film was edited on an Avid, with an HD cut also maintained in Final Cut Pro. The 3D was made using Maya, XSI, and Lightwave The 2D composites were made with Shake, Inferno, Fusion, and Combustion. The filmmakers prefer Macintosh, but large portions of the movie were made under Linux. Asset management was handled by custom software written in the Panorama development environment, made by Provue. Color management was handled by Truelight software. The film was scanned on a northlight scanner and was recorded on the arrilaser. Most of the film was shot at high speed, between 50 and 150fps. Normal film is at 24fps. The film was transferred to HD SR tape and quicktime, and HD quicktimes were the basis for the HD preview cuts. The working resolution for the film was 2K, at a working aspect ratio of 2.11 and a projected aspect ratio of 2.35.
So yeah, avid.
Thiras is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2007, 02:58 PM   #17
godliest
Senior Member
 
godliest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Sweden
Posts: 396
godliest is notable
Yep. But I was maybe not thinking about 300, but it's as good example as any. Now I was just wondering, out of curiosity, really which of the Avid programs did they use? There isn't just one Avid program that's made for editing, do you know which they used?
__________________
Give me + to my posts
or be destroyed

Albert Einstein Quotes
"Gravitation is not responsible for people falling in love."
"Any intelligent fool can make things bigger, more complex, and more violent. It takes a touch of genius - and a lot of courage - to move in the opposite direction."
"Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the the universe."
godliest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2007, 09:39 PM   #18
Dw‚rv
Senior Member
 
Dw‚rv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 267
Dw‚rv is unknown at this point
May I throw in one more:
I work with Magix Video deluxe, its not expensive (can't remember exactly, was something like 50 Euro) and for the money you get a very nice editing programm. I'm happy with it.
I cant compair it with other programms - lack of other programms, ye know - but a friend of mine (professional filmmaker) adviced me to stay with Magix and not to invest in Sony Vegas (wich I was thinking about).
__________________
RunningDw‚rv productions
Dw‚rv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2007, 08:07 AM   #19
stormrager
Senior Member
 
stormrager's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 156
stormrager is unknown at this point
http://www.sims99.com/wiki/Category:Tools

is a full list of almost all the possible programs for making machinima.
stormrager is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2007, 04:20 PM   #20
bripadop
Initiate
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 2
bripadop is an unknown quantity at this point
im a newb i use moviemaker :O and i wonder what i should use
bripadop is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Forum time (GMT) 11:47 PM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.