WCM Network: 
 


Go Back   mmorpgforum.net > Machinima > WarcraftMovies.com > Movie Making
Register Projects FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-21-2007, 05:00 PM   #1
Projectx
Initiate
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 5
Projectx is unknown at this point
1680x1050 Resolutioners

If you are on a 1680x1050 resolution, what do you guys do when recording?

1) Just use half-size
2) Lower ingame resolution

I was thinking about using half-size [Since you will get 1 FPS if you widescreen w/ Native resolution] but did any of you get any major quality issues with this enabled?
Projectx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2007, 11:11 PM   #2
Thiras
Senior Member
 
Thiras's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 528
Thiras is unknown at this point
I record at 1680x1050.. its no problem with a new-ish computer
Thiras is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2007, 06:56 PM   #3
Projectx
Initiate
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 5
Projectx is unknown at this point
I think the limit resolution on fullscreen while utilizing fraps is around 1280xsomething. I tried it, my game was running at around a 35 FPS average but the footage was @ 1FPS.
Projectx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2007, 09:42 PM   #4
Tenkage
Initiate
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 14
Tenkage is an unknown quantity at this point
If that helps, I have absolutely no problems with 1280x1024 resolution. 60fps IG and 30 with the footage.
Tenkage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2007, 09:41 AM   #5
Thiras
Senior Member
 
Thiras's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 528
Thiras is unknown at this point
Quote:
Originally Posted by Projectx View Post
I think the limit resolution on fullscreen while utilizing fraps is around 1280xsomething. I tried it, my game was running at around a 35 FPS average but the footage was @ 1FPS.
2560x1600 on dual/quad core cpus. 1152x864 singlecore.

edit: and eh, to answer your original question, half size 1680x1050 is higher than a normal dvd so its pretty good yeah.
Thiras is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2007, 10:22 PM   #6
bigflyinazn
Member
 
bigflyinazn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 44
bigflyinazn is unknown at this point
it depends on the version of fraps also. and older one wont record well at that resolution. its like 2.8 or higher to get the resolution thiras mentioned.

i have a dualcore processor, and record at 1680x1050 just fine, and for filesize purposes, i render at 840x524
bigflyinazn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Forum time (GMT) 11:47 PM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.