WCM Network: 
 


Go Back   mmorpgforum.net > Machinima > WarcraftMovies.com > Movie Making
Register Projects FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-31-2008, 05:05 AM   #61
salmanq
Initiate
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 3
salmanq is an unknown quantity at this point
Whats the minimum video settings ingame that is accepted as decent? Whats the standard?
salmanq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2008, 02:44 PM   #62
kiahann
Senior Member
 
kiahann's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 900
kiahann is notable
What do you mean? like graphics? or fraps settings?
__________________
ModSquad Warcraftmovies.com
kiahann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2008, 07:16 PM   #63
salmanq
Initiate
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 3
salmanq is an unknown quantity at this point
Quote:
Originally Posted by kiahann View Post
What do you mean? like graphics? or fraps settings?
Both. Maybe should add that I plan to do a PvP movie.

Last edited by salmanq : 03-31-2008 at 07:21 PM.
salmanq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2008, 01:36 AM   #64
kiahann
Senior Member
 
kiahann's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 900
kiahann is notable
Well it depends really you can get good quality on fraps useing 50 fps if you have vegas editing.
__________________
ModSquad Warcraftmovies.com
kiahann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2008, 06:02 PM   #65
sandman88
Initiate
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3
sandman88 is unknown at this point
Ok,

I just recently built a new monster of a machine.

Intel E8400 3.0 ghz proc
8 gigs of 1066 ram
Nvidia 9600 GT SSC (SLI)
EVGA 780i Mobo
WD Raptor 10k primary drive
Vista Ultimate x64

I'm running fraps 2.9.4 (latest) I've tried everything to get a clear uncompressed vid and nothing i'm doing is working.

I've set both the desktop and wow to 1152 xxx (forget exact number, not at home) and when I do that the image on my screen becomes fuzzy (actual in game) i think because my monitor wants to run at 1600x1200.

When i create the video it's just not clear like others i have seen with far less equipment. I'm running the latest Nvidia drivers.

I don't have vertical sync enabled in wow, and my fps are typically over 100, when i hit F9 to start recording my fps goes down to 30 and seems to lag somewhat. I've read that there are issues in 2.9.4 do you think that's some of the issue?
sandman88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2008, 06:12 PM   #66
sandman88
Initiate
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3
sandman88 is unknown at this point
I just found this FAQ from one of the Machinma gods.

I'll set up my system accordingly , see if i can get some better results.

http://www.madx.dk/machinima/forum/v...php?f=16&t=106
sandman88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2008, 06:16 PM   #67
kiahann
Senior Member
 
kiahann's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 900
kiahann is notable
Quote:
Originally Posted by sandman88 View Post
Ok,

I just recently built a new monster of a machine.

Intel E8400 3.0 ghz proc
8 gigs of 1066 ram
Nvidia 9600 GT SSC (SLI)
EVGA 780i Mobo
WD Raptor 10k primary drive
Vista Ultimate x64

I'm running fraps 2.9.4 (latest) I've tried everything to get a clear uncompressed vid and nothing i'm doing is working.

I've set both the desktop and wow to 1152 xxx (forget exact number, not at home) and when I do that the image on my screen becomes fuzzy (actual in game) i think because my monitor wants to run at 1600x1200.

When i create the video it's just not clear like others i have seen with far less equipment. I'm running the latest Nvidia drivers.

I don't have vertical sync enabled in wow, and my fps are typically over 100, when i hit F9 to start recording my fps goes down to 30 and seems to lag somewhat. I've read that there are issues in 2.9.4 do you think that's some of the issue?
It could be some of the issue but it could be your monitor as well.

I know when I use to record with windows movie maker (since you cant really choose rendering options) after I render my footage would go all green and really mess up

with those computer specs YOU should not have any lag what so ever on the best fraps settings what I'm guessing that it might not support the 9600's yet or something.

as for the blurriness of your raw footage not sure why it does that I mean the quality of the raw footage won't ever be perfect but have you tried just rendering the raw footage is it still blurry?
__________________
ModSquad Warcraftmovies.com
kiahann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2008, 06:26 PM   #68
sandman88
Initiate
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3
sandman88 is unknown at this point
I used to fraps with a far lesser machine, amd 3700 , 2 gigs of ram, agp vid card gf 6800gt and the vids weren't perfect, but they were OK for what it was.

I typically use Vegas 7 to render the video, not sure if that is the proper way to do it, I haven't re-installed vegas on my vista system yet, still trying to work out the other issues.

I'll play around with some settings this weekend, just wasn't sure if anyone had seen anything like this and had some quick fixes for the issues.

Does turning up your fps inside of fraps help at all? i know the files will be larger in size, i'm not worried about that, just wasn't sure if it actually helped the quality of the capture.
sandman88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2008, 04:01 AM   #69
kiahann
Senior Member
 
kiahann's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 900
kiahann is notable
The higher the fps the bigger the file size but it makes fraps run better on your computer.
__________________
ModSquad Warcraftmovies.com
kiahann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2008, 04:25 PM   #70
Keladian
Initiate
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1
Keladian is an unknown quantity at this point
Thanks. I hope I can by this later.
Keladian is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Forum time (GMT) 09:14 PM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.